Sample of the day No 1- Lush 1000 Kisses Deep

20 Feb

Hi everyone. This is the first in an occasional series of sample reports.  I have been neglecting my samples  and the process of writing about them will help me decide what to keep. Bought an 8 x 2ml sample set from Lush for £19.95.  The samples are dabbers – don’t do as I did and try and pull off the inside cap.

I have always been fond of the Lush ethos, and they have a real commitment to fragrance.  However,  I haven’t yet found one that goes in my regular rotation.  Part of that reason is the Lush folks have a real liking for quantities of indolic jasmine, which is usually a no-no for me, unless it is well blended.

Today’s random pick from the box is 1000 Kisses Deep, a perfume which is intended to celebrate the lasting love between perfumer Mark Constantine and his wife, and evoke an enchanted garden.  The name had led me to expect roses, but there are none.  The main notes are mandarin, osmanthus, labdanum, myrrh, and musk.

I get none of the fruit or flower at the start, a dry myrrh is front and centre, with a whiff of labdanum and the perfume has a soft, cool, airy quality, more serene than sensual.  Then a honeyed note emerges, and the apricot like osmanthus pops up for a short while which warms up the mix and the drydown is a musky skin scent,  with the faintest whiff of myrrh.

The verdict – I’d LOVE this if it were a candle.  But not for me on  skin, so into the swapping basket it goes  Next time I am in Lush I will give it a spray test as that might wake up the mandarin and osmanthus, two of my favourite notes.

 

Leave a Reply

