Bud Parfums of Australia – Elysium

16 Apr

Bud Parfums are an Australian niche house with a bohemian vibe.  You can receive 5 glass sample vials for $AUS 20  They have great customer service as a couple of my vials arrived smashed and were replaced along with a couple of extras as quick as the postage comes from Australia to the UK.   I have been wearing the perfumes for a while and will be posting reviews.

The overview of the perfumes is that they are all well crafted with good quality ingredients.  I have not experienced “recoil” with any of the scents.  I’m looking at you, Penhaligons Bluebell !!!

Today’s selection is Elysium and I reproduce below the description from the website.

A place or condition of ideal bliss or complete happiness. A paradise. A little bit gypsy in the sense that she lingers long enough to distract your fancy. Surrounded by cascades of jasmine flowers, with trails of honeysuckle blossoms. The first day of Spring, full of new potential. Sunshine and warmth after a long cold winter. Light and refreshing, you are floating on air in your magic bubble. INGREDIENTS: Neroli, Jasmine, geranium, sweet orange, lilac, orange blossoms, musk, bergamot, petitgrain oils.

Decided to sniff alongside Chamade EDT one of my spring favourites, as both share a soft, airy, springlike, ethereal quality despite their different recipes and characters.

Elysium holds up well beside the Guerlain and does not smell cheap in comparison.  Elysium opens up with a light jasmine and then warms with orange blossom. Chamade is greener, and I smell the hyacinth and galbanum, then lily of the valley.The drydown of Elysium is orangy floral musky  and Chamade warms down with vanilla flowers and woods.

6 Responses to “Bud Parfums of Australia – Elysium”

  1. Undina April 16, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    I’m curious, how/why did you decide to try this line?

    • scentandshinythings April 17, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by. I read about them on a blog during a Google session. Friends of mine were visiting Australia a while back in 2011 and I was selfishly looking to see if there was a perfumer on their travel route.

      If I could remember the blog which induced me to press Buy Now, I’d send the author my heartfelt thanks.

      • scentandshinythings April 17, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

        After a few clicks and a bit of thought, it must have been Perfume Smelling Things. I always used to click through to other blogs from the blogroll at Now Smell This, and they did a series of reviews on the line last August/September which would be about right. So I will send my thanks to them!!

      • Undina April 17, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

        Thank you. Whenever I come across a less known brand reviews I always wonder how people choose to try that specific brand.

  2. Mens Cologne Hub April 25, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Very interesting. I love to find those little niche specialty houses like this, you can find some real gems!

    • scentandshinythings April 26, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Hi there. I agree that you can find gems, and it is nice to give small houses like this a boost. Do report back if you sample some of the men’s colognes.

Leave a Reply

